Grilled catfish and Tilapia fish

Hello foodies,,trust you had a great day. I did!. Accept my apologies for not posting yesterday as promised. I’m making it up to you with today’s exciting recipe!

Today’s recipe is grilled catfish and grilled tilapia fish. If you are from Nigeria (where I come from)then you will know this is a treat that you must try!, it’s usually served at bars, restaurants, clubs,parties and so on,but I will be sharing this recipe with you so that you can enjoy it at home too.

I love catfish a lot,especially served with jollofrice (you know it has to be Nigerian jollofrice…😁) I made sure I ate it at least once a week while I lived in Nigeria. It was one of the foods I missed the most when I moved to America and I just had to fix that. Luckily for me,I have taken my husband to all my favorite joints back home (Nigeria)and he loved it too. So when we got here we just had to create our recipe.

Our first try was an epic fail(with the catfish). Our second attempt was with the tilapia fish and it was just as bad as our first attempt,it dried out and just didn’t taste right. We weren’t going to give up,so we tried again and this time,it was a hit!

Yesterday,someone ordered catfish and tilapia and I thought,this is the perfect opportunity to share with you guys… Enough of my stories and let’s get to business.

Ingredients

2 catfish

3 Tilapia

3 seasoning cubes

Salt to taste

2 tbs Cameroon pepper

2 tbs of ginger

2tbs of garlic

1tbs onion powder

1tbs coriander

1tbs black pepper

Sesame oil

1 lemon

1tbs bush onion powder

1tbs mrs dash

Suya pepper

AC55AEF2-9282-4777-9019-46672F2E40A9.jpeg

INSTRUCTION

1) In a bowl combine all ingredients and mix with 2 cooking spoons of sesame oil. Mix properly and taste for salt. Set aside

2) Clean fish properly and make 2/3 slit on both sides depending on how big the fishes are. Drizzle some lemon on it.

3) Using a pastry brush, brush the fishes with the marinade and wrap each fish in different foil wraps. Like the picture above.

4) Put the fishes in your refrigerator overnight to allow marinade sip into the fish. But if you can’t wait let the marinade sit for a few hours maybe 2hrs.

5) Transfer fish onto a gas grill and let it grill for 45-60mins

6) Fish is ready, serve with any side of your choice,jollofrice, fried rice,fries or even roasted plantain.

Had mine with roasted plantain 😁😁😁

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment